Introducing “Mary Elizabeth Sings”

Notice – how in the first video (above) of Janis Ian’s recording of “At Seventeen,”  compared with the second video of the same song recorded nearly 40 years later – that Janis Ian’s spirit  remains the same.  Her body has changed, of course, but her innate spirit continues essentially the same, given a fuller resonance in the later video because of her greater life experiences and maturing wisdom.

In my blog, I will be sharing with readers not only my thoughts, feelings, and experiences  but also truths I have discovered by being true, above all, to the innate, God-given spirit I was born with and which remains within me today.

Mary Elizabeth is my given name.  I want to “sing” for readers with my soul and spirit, not simply to speak with my logical voice.  I hope that my “singing” will encourage others to seek to know their unique spirits by dismantling the external labels we sometimes place upon our souls – to our own diminishment.  (As stated by the older Janis Ian at the beginning of the second video, above.)

This blog is my way of contributing, hopefully, to a more loving and more conscious world before I leave this Earth.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.”

Henry David Thoreau, Civil Disobedience and Other Essays

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This entry was posted in Henry David Thoreau, Janis Ian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

