Amazing Grace: God’s Gift to This Lost World

If, through the last post, you see how God’s grace has blessed my life, perhaps you also understand, especially during this Christmas season, how God’s greatest gift to  all was an amazing grace.  

The Father of the Universe chose to lower himself to a human realm of consciousness and suffer within it, so that all could understand the greatest example of grace and love that the world has ever experienced. I am not a doctrinaire Christian. I believe in the Father and the Son, but I also believe in the power of the Holy Spirit to connect each to every other. The Holy Spirit transcends the dogma of any particular religion. As the song in my last post shows, Native Americans have become one with the Father through their spiritual beliefs. The Holy Spirit reaches all and makes all, one.  

I hope that you will celebrate Christmas by listening to the following history of the song, “Amazing Grace.” The song transcends the perils of any particular race. Listen carefully when the singer sings as if he were a slave in the belly of a slaveship who can express himself only through a mesmerizing groan or deep hum. 

When my second husband had a major stroke and died at age 60 a few days later, most of his brain had been damaged, but the core of it remained conscious for 12 hours. In our last conscious encounter, at 2 a.m., I told him that I loved him and he groaned – the first sound he had been able to mutter. I knew that he was making a tremendous effort just to utter such a heartwrenchingly gutteral groan to tell me he loved me, too. I told him that I knew he loved me so that he would know I knew what he was “saying.” When our daughter entered his hospital room, immediately after me, she told her father that she loved him,  and he, again, groaned in order to respond to her love, in the only way that he could respond. We were not to be with our husband and father again while he had any consciousness remaining, but those final, urgent groans meant everything to us because the groans were not just groans, they were our connection to one another in love.

The universal groan in the singer’s voice when he sings “Amazing Grace” is an everlasting soul sound. It is deep within all people, and it reminds us that the language of God is beyond words. It reminds us that God died for us, His lost world, on a rugged and humiliating cross, in order to bring us back to life, by demonstrating for us the depths of, and the importance of, love – above all. 

 “And the greatest of these is love.” I Cor. 13

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Amazing Grace: God’s Gift to This Lost World

  1. Fred says:

    Hello again Mary Elizabeth,

    Ever since I first “met” you on Jay’s blog (the time I was baiting USinUK lol) I always associated you with the song I’m going to link at the end. It’s an obscure song by a rock and roll icon, Bob Dylan. I really hate his singing, (I think he’s probably the only person still living who sings worse than I do), but he is a poet. To me this song has always been powerful. I got the album way back when, I don’t even know why. I never liked Bob’s singing. But this song has always touched me. Someone stole that album (Infidels BTW) and I have never found it since on CD. FINALLY it was posted up on Youtube.

    When I waded through the trash at Jay’s blog and saw your comments, it always came to mind. What’s a sweetheart like you, doing in a place like this. Since it seems like you appreciate good music (and Bob Dylan singing ISN’T good music lol) if nothing else, go to about 3:25 and listen to the guitar solo. It’s one of the best mellow guitar solo’s i have heard. Hopefully though, you can wade through Bob’s sorry singing and listen to the words of the whole song………….. it seems to fit you. Your journey has been long, but it seems to served you well. It brings me some measure of peace to read it. I don’t know how much as “I’m wasted and I can’t find my way home.” (the second video link). But it helps. Thank you.

  2. Fred says:

    How funny. The first one (Bob Dylan) posted as a link and the second one (Blind Faith) embedded.

  3. Fred says:

    Oh and thanks for the education on the “slave scale.” I thought i knew a little about music. I learned more.

  4. Fred,

    Thank you for your kind words, and especially for the Bob Dylan song. I have loved Bob Dylan’s music since my NYC days in the 1960s. I last saw him perform only a few years ago. I actually like his rugged voice, but the heart of his impact has been his poet’s vision (as you mentioned) and his innate musicality. The rhythm of life is deep inside Zimmerman’s soul.

    I felt I had something that was valuable to say to others, but I was hesitant to enter into the fray, you might say, on Jay Bookman’s blog. Then, I began to communicate on that blog – and I hoped that I could be a positive force to readers through that blog’s opportunity to communicate.

    After a while, I realized that I wanted to start my own blog which would center on striving for higher consciousness. I hope you will enjoy my New Year’s posting which will elaborate more on a budding egalitarian world, as I view it.

    In the meantime, if these words are of help to you, remember that “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” (as I had stated in my post entitled, “A Conversation with Isabella Rossellini”). Ironically, it is this fact that connects us spiritually with every other person on Earth and makes us all one. To heal from our individual and community brokenness, we must forgive others, but we must also forgive ourselves. Sin is simply brokenness – brokenness from God and from one another. When we can forgive, we are, then, spiritually freed to love others, as well as ourselves, unconditionally, as God loves us.

Leave a Reply

