Forms of Romantic Love: My Life As Example

I believe I have been in love with a man three times in my life.  I offer my life as an example of three different types of romantic love which I have experienced.  My purpose in sharing this private information is to expand the consciousness of readers about the nuances contained within the the broader connotation of “romantic love.”  It is, also, offered as a challenge for readers to see that more important than any love interest one may have, I believe that each human being should remain true to his or her own soul, which is God’s voice in you.  (The following comments were first shared by me on columnist and blogger Jay Bookman’s blog on April 8, 2016.)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My response to that poster’s inquiry: “My first husband remained my best friend for 45 years until his death at age 69 in 2006.  I had met him when I was 18 and he was 24, and it was a true love not meant to last, as a marriage, forever, but as a deep friendship, forever.  We produced a son together who was born 3 months prematurely and who died 24 hours after his birth in 1965 in NYC.  We were married for 6 years.
I met my second husband when I was 35.  He was a French immigrant.  We had a child when I was 39.  We were together for 29 years before his untimely death in 2007.  I loved him dearly, also, for he gave me the family life, and a child, and a home which I had always wanted.
They met in 2002 in our home for Christmas.  Life is not meant to be lived in stereotypical generalities.  I believe that most who read this post will understand the truth in what I am sharing, and will understand why I am sharing it.”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“In the ongoing process of spiritual evolution of human beings, unfortunately Mississippi, and most of the South, for that matter, have lagged behind the nation as a whole – from our nation’s inception. . . .

I had promised a poster on Jay Bookman’s blog that I would share Nina Simone’s song, ‘Mississippi Goddam’ on Bookman’s ‘Friday Night Music’ thread. Here it is. The scenes you are about to observe are not history to me; they were part of my life and my formative years before I headed to NYC with my first husband and lifelong best friend.  Good for Nina Simone for stating truth through her song, as raw as truth can get.”
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tst6Fuw2Sfo  

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Nina Simone, Types of Romantic Love, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

