Understanding Others With Depth

I just posted the following on AJC journalist Jay Bookman’s blog. I hope my words are insightful to others who may read my blog. What I am saying here, in part, is not to read others, nor one’s self, in stereotypical ways, but with depth.

“I learned much yesterday. I hope many of you did, also.

Once, I told Jay Bookman that he thought in shallow ways when he was lecturing me on how I post on his blog. His response, “And, I have to live with that, MES.”

This is what many of you, like Jay Bookman, may not know about me unless you understand others in depth:

I was told yesterday by a poster that, “All you do is lecture when you come on here (like now, I suppose) and that is disgusting. You should use more satire so that people will pay more attention to you, which is what you want.”

(1) I lecture mainly because I cannot abide the personal pettiness that others engage in constantly on Bookman’s blog, so that I do not want to engage others here (on Bookman’s blog), but I do want to share what I know of life.

(2) I lecture mainly because I cannot abide the mean-spiritedness which is acceptable on this blog, which is often enhanced by “satire.”

If these two points make me appear to feel superior, then I can live with that much easier than I can live with indulging in personal pettiness and mean-spiritedness through personal exchanges here. My goal has never been, on this (Bookman’s) blog, to win as many friends as I could, but always to state truth as I see it, which I have just done.

I’ll be back later, even if it is days later. Have a good day. It is a lovely day – God’s creation.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

