Here’s to you, Reverend John Tipton Shell

Rev. John Tipton Shell

IMG_2055.JPG

In the past six months, I read the story of my great, great grandfather’s life and how he was impacted forever by the carnage of America’s Civil War. He sold his large farm, “freed any slaves he may have owned at that war’s beginning” and became a minister and schoolmaster throughout the hills of western NC, creating churches and schools there, for the last 50 years of his life.

He died in 1911, eight years before my father was born. I shed tears when I read the story of his life because I had finally discovered why I am who I am, and have been throughout my life. Here’s to you, Rev. John Tipton Shell, and for what you did with your life in uplifting, not destroying, other human beings through God’s grace and spirit within you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here’s to you, Reverend John Tipton Shell

  1. Hello! I found your post when I was looking for information about my great-great-great-great grandfather JT Shell. My great-grandma was Dorothy Shell who was the daughter of Aldine Shell who was the son of Rev. Pinkney Shell who was one of John Tipton’s sons. So it seems that we are related! I would love it if you could share any further information about the family with me if you have it. Thank you and God bless!

    • Please tell me your name (I have also sent you an email if you prefer privacy), and I will email to you Shell family information, as well as insert your name on my “Ancestry DNA” Shell family tree line.

      Best wishes, Mary Elizabeth

Leave a comment